Denver of the East, originally uploaded by Adam's Journey.

Denver, the Lincoln County town, that calls itself the "Denver of the East".

Lincoln County's Denver was settled around 1770 and originally known as Dry Pond after an adjacent swampy area. In 1873, D. Matt Thompson, a school principal, renamed the town to Denver after the capital of Colorado. At the time, Colorado was being considered for entry into the Union. Denver was incorporated in 1877.

Denver is located on NC 16 in Eastern Lincoln County, the community has grown over the years thanks to the popularity of home building along Lake Norman.

On the web: Denver, NC

Denver (CO) isn't the only Denver ---Dale Sanderon


Popular Posts